New Friends

Let me take a moment and introduce my readers to a new friend of mine. His name, Jeremy Copeland. His blog I think, Therefore I Write. His calling, to plant a church here in Durham, North Carolina. See, Jeremy and his wife moved her to plant this church just over a month or so ago and they moved from Southern California. West Coast to East Coast. Big move. Big change. Jeremy, his wife, and two girls are now here. I found his blog truly by chance (If you call God chance) and we have meet up twice now and a great friendship is forming. Below is an excerpt from his blog about a book called “unChristian” which he is reading and which I actually started reading Saturday. You can read the full post here, it’s well worth the 3-5 minutes it will take you to read it and the day or so it will take you to ponder his words…

My own experience has echoed this research too. I can’t tell you how many conversations I had with students for whom this issue was keeping them from embracing Jesus. They were afraid to become like the people they couldn’t stand. Other students who were part of our church already would often confront me when they thought I wasn’t being real with them. I couldn’t get away with anything. When I had a bad week, I better not try and put on a face and talk about joy. They could see right through me. I appreciated that about them so much. I learned from them all the time about living an authentic life. They seemed to have no problem living authentically. In fact, sometimes I wished they would put on a face a bit. Their willingness to be so authentic often led to situations of brutal, blunt honesty. That’s fine when it’s just you and them talking, but it’s a whole different thing when you’re in a group setting with other adults who don’t share their willingness to be so transparent. But I think these students got it. They refuse to carry on a version of Christianity that is fake or forced. It’s also why I think there is great hope for the church in the future. There is a generation of Jesus’ followers who are forging a new path. I pray that we learn from them and learn with them as we advance the kingdom.

I’m ask my readers, my friends, the pastors, the churches, and all those who read this wether you’re here for a second or two or come back often to continually pray for the Copeland’s, and this church plant God has put on his heart… for the last 3 years. They are a great family and in the words of Chris Tomlin, “Greater things have yet to come, Great things are still to be done, In this city…”

~ by Dan Browne on September 21, 2008.

2 Responses to “New Friends”

  1. I’m blushing… haha.

  2. ROFL… no need to blush I believe your on the right track and I want to support that, I won’t tell anyone about the $100 in pennies you paid me to say it. Kidding.

Leave a Reply

 
