Don Miller’s Prayer @ the DNC

I came across this on the net today and thought wow, I love it when truth is prayed, I think Don you need to go pray this same prayer for the Republicans and I think the rest of the world too.

“Father God,

This week, as the world looks on, help the leaders in this room create a civil dialogue about our future.

We need you, God, as individuals and also as a nation.

We need you to protect us from our enemies, but also from ourselves, because we are easily tempted toward apathy.

Give us a passion to advance opportunities for the least of these, for widows and orphans, for single moms and children whose fathers have left.

Give us the eyes to see them, and the ears to hear them, and hands willing to serve them.

Help us serve people, not just causes. And stand up to specific injustices rather than vague notions.

Give those in this room who have power, along with those who will meet next week, the courage to work together to finally provide health care to those who don’t have any, and a living wage so families can thrive rather than struggle.

Hep us figure out how to pay teachers what they deserve and give children an equal opportunity to get a college education.

Help us figure out the balance between economic opportunity and corporate gluttony.

We have tried to solve these problems ourselves but they are still there. We need your help.

Father, will you restore our moral standing in the world.

A lot of people don’t like us but that’s because they don’t know the heart of the average American.

Will you give us favor and forgiveness, along with our allies around the world.

Help us be an example of humility and strength once again.

Lastly, father, unify us.

Even in our diversity help us see how much we have in common.

And unify us not just in our ideas and in our sentiments—but in our actions, as we look around and figure out something we can do to help create an America even greater than the one we have come to cherish.

God we know that you are good.

Thank you for blessing us in so many ways as Americans.

I make these requests in the name of your son, Jesus, who gave his own life against the forces of injustice.”

::Don Miller

~ by Dan Browne on August 28, 2008.

3 Responses to “Don Miller’s Prayer @ the DNC”

  1. I’ve been struggling with Miller for a while now – he raises some very good questions, and I really like much of his blue like jazz. I think that his prayer is interesting, if somewhat “platform driven” He is, at least honest, I think…

    But he always comes up short in his answers – and that’s how he ends up sounding platform-y – it seems to me that when you think that Jesus gave his life “against the forces of injustice” rather than to redeem man and to restore our relationship to himself then you end up with a prayer that is about health care for all…

    not that that’s a bad thing – it’s just not the first thing. I think miller is well intentioned, and a thought provoking author, but i also feel that his prayer was a very real missed opportunity too…

  2. Jeremy: Thanks for posting man. I agree Don raises some very good questions and he does not give you all the answers. I think he challenges us as we should be challenged. We should question things as it relates to life, theology etc… to not do this would not be human and to not do this would mean we are like a stagnant pool of water. Mind you I am conservative in my theology but if people like Don don’t challenge me I don’t think I would learn much or look it up. I think everyones theological view is slightly different, even if it’s by less then 1% it’s different. Some are right, some are wrong, until we are in heaven or hell we won’t know.

    I think if you asked Don (mind you I have never meet the man) if Christ died for him he would say yes, I think that is evident in his writing. I also think satan is behind the “forces of injustice” and Jesus and everything he taught stands against injustice.

    Was Miller’s prayer staged? He has talked about not liking to get in front of large groups of people etc… and if I was him I would have wrote every word down and thought about everything I was going to pray for etc… Maybe Don felt it an opportunity to share what God is dealing with him about (after all he did just bike across the country for that same reason).

    With anyone’s writing or thoughts on God I find I can agree with some things but I always find there is stuff people say/do/write that I don’t agree with. This is true of Miller, Graham, Bell, my mom, and the New Testament professor I had in college.

    Why do you think his prayer was a missed opportunity? To share Christ? Just askin’.

    Again man, thanks for posting.

  3. Thanks for replying to my comment – appreciate it, and sorry it’s taken me so long to come back…

    I think he missed his opportunity to talk about life. Rereading the prayer, he talk a lot of social value issues, and social justice, but he doesn’t talk about life, either the value of human life (i.e. abortion) or the life that Christ gave so that we might have life too. That’s my frustration I think, That’s the opportunity he missed – or didn’t take, that’s why when you say “forces of injustice” rather than “to give us life” – you skirt the preeminence of Christ’s sacrifice (after all Ghandi and MLK Jr. And – for half the people in the hall – john Lennon – all gave their life fighting the forces of injustice)

Leave a Reply

 
