The Midnight Run

I am sitting in the surgery waiting room at Bayonet Point Regional Medical Center in Hudson, FL. Apparently (as I found out yesterday) my mom is having a full hip replacement done. I now think this was mentioned a few months back but it the total chaos of everything I had forgotten. I left Williston, SC. last night around 10PM and drove through the night. I do have to apologize to those who where sleeping at the rest areas where I took a few naps, I know my snoring must have been unbearable. So 400+ miles and two liters of Mountain Dew later has brought me to the waiting room. My mom has no clue that I am here. I was told they will not let me see her in recovery but I’m going to try and pull the “pastor card” since the “son” card didn’t work, nor did the card of driving through the night.

The other issue with this whole thing is that my mother told me last night that she has been seeing a few doctors and they told her she has some type of bone cancer. I attend to find out for sure (no offense to my mom), she can take things way out of context. Still the possible news is quite upsetting, especially on the heels of everything with Lauren. What else can be thrown at me?

If you read my blog and live in NPR and I don’t see you in the next few days, please do not be offended.

~ by Dan Browne on April 9, 2008.

3 Responses to “The Midnight Run”

  1. Dan ,
    Best of luck to your Mom. I had a hip replacement nearly 4 years agp and it can be very paimful. I can not imagine going through that and hearing any news about cancer.
    Please give your blog and update on Lauren. I like reading news on your blog rather than hearing an edited version of the news on the streets and in the stores.
    Tell Becca to call us if she needs us. Back to regular routine for my family next week.
    We are thinking about you and praying for you.

    Sincerely ,

    Beth Webb

  2. My prayers are with you and your family.

  3. As I said my mom can take things out of context (saying they told her she has some type of bone cancer) The doctor who told her that is at Community Hospital here in New Port Richey. I’m going to get his/her name today and have someone call and find out more information or at least get them to allow me to have access to the info.

    She did well with the surgery, I’m going to go visit her again today. Yesterday she slept mostly all day.

Leave a Reply

 
