Lauren Update III

IMG_3275

Today was a good day. We just got home from the hospital for the 2nd time today. We spent the morning with Lauren and then they had a 2-3 hour surgery on another baby in the NICU and the rest of us visiting had to check out for a bit. We came home, napped, and headed back this evening so we could give her her bath tonight and feed her. She has taken to the bottle like a fish to water, they where really worried since the tumor is in that area that it might effect her swallowing and other refluxes associated with the trigeminal nerve. They actually never got that chance to extubate her, daddy called it in the last post that she would rip it out on her own and she did (that’s my girl). Since she is now feeding from the bottle, despite having the clef pallet and the tumor, they have also removed the feeding tube. She still has the IV lines going into her belly button but some of those may come out tomorrow. This does not mean she is out of the woods yet, far from it in fact, but it means that she is progressing well and getting stronger for the tough road she has ahead.

The best news for my wife and I is that they said we might be able to bring her home this weekend for a few days since she is doing well and until they get the biopsy back, they can’t do much else. It’s also good to know that they are running simulations for the next surgery to remove the rest of the tumor, which is going to be a difficult feat.

My wife and I want to thank you all for your continued prayers and comments. We are awed and humbled by the support we have received from you. Our prayer is that God would bless each and everyone of you in return for interceding on the behalf of our daughter.

~ by Dan Browne on March 6, 2008.

17 Responses to “Lauren Update III”

  1. What a blessing to read this news. Daddy’s little girl is a fighter. So glad you will be able to enjoy her at home. Prayers are continuing to be lifted up by the young and old for your family. Love you all, Jean and family

  2. Found your story through a friends blog. Just wanted to let you know I just lifted your sweet baby girl before the Lord. Will be praying for your family.

  3. I have been praying for baby Lauren> After my best friend Monica told me about her. Sometimes I do not understand how God works. With people like you and I that love our children and things happen to our children and then their are people that do not want there children and they have perfectly healthy babies, It really saddens me. I am glad to hear she is doing well. I will keep praying for all of you. God Bless Baby Lauren!
    Much Love,
    Beth Lucas

  4. SHE IS SO BEAUTIFUL!!! You are blessed. I know that God is there holding you through all of this while we are here in Panama City praying for you, Rebecca, and your precious Lauren. We love you, Juddy and Lisa Harris, Shannon, James and Megan

  5. Your daughter is beautiful. We continue to pray for her and for you.

  6. Thanks so much for the update. I am so glad she is eating well and that there is talk of Lauren being able to spend a few days with you and Becca at home. That is so exciting…God is so good! We are continuing to pray for healing for Lauren. We love you and miss you guys!

    Jaclyn

  7. You three are constantly in my thoughts and prayers! I wish you were closer so we could help you in every way we could, but know we’re here when you need us. Kiss that beautiful baby girl for me! She’s a blessing, FOR SURE!!
    Sarah Woodson (Panama City)

  8. Dan and Rebecca,
    Lauren is in mine and Keiths prayers. I have also put her on my churchs’ prayer list and churchs’ web site along with your web site. We miss the both of you and wish you were here so we could help out! She’s the prettiest baby I’ve ever seen!!
    Love, Tammy

  9. Rebecca and Dan,
    Lauren is a beautiful baby! I was happy to read that she has your pretty blue eyes. I will keep her in my prayers as well as the both of you. If you need anything, please just call. I miss you.
    Love, Dr. B.

  10. What a gorgeous baby Lauren is! We pray for all three of you everyday. You guys are so much stronger and have graciously handled more than most will ever experience in their entire lives. We pray for Lauren’s health and for the amazing strength that God has developed in you. May it all be use to glorify God. We love you so much.

  11. Hey Dan!!! I just wanted to drop by and say hi!! That is a beautiful pic of Lauren!!!! I hope she gets well soon so she can come home!!!! Hope everything goes well!!!

  12. She is beautiful! I’ll pray for her 😀

  13. Lauren is beautiful! I know you and Bec are so proud. We are keeping the 3 of you in our prayers. If there is anything we can do for you, we are right across the street.

  14. Glad she likes the bottle. Hope you get to bring her home. Still praying for you guys.

    Beth Webb

  15. Dan and Rebecca,
    We are fervently praying for each of you and Lauren. We serve a MIGHTY God who has plans for every moment of our lives, even those we don’t understand. Lauren is GORGEOUS! We are praying for His mighty work and for His peace that surpasses all understanding to flood your lives right now. We love you guys!
    Amy and Tim Bowden

  16. She is soooooooo cute! I am glad she is doing ok.

    Brittany M.

  17. I just came back and read this post just now. It had 5 hits today. Man looking back it seems like a dream. Lauren is this amazing child who discovers new things every day. I read this and ya know, I wonder how things will be different for her when we share this with her some day, when she realizes the odds where far from being in her favor and that this God we love who has taken care of her loves her too. I wonder how she will respond to the fact that there is still tumor in her head and will be for life.

Leave a Reply

 
