Are We Worthy?

“Anyone who loves his father or mother more than me is not worthy of me; anyone who loves his son or daughter more than me is not worthy of me; and anyone who does not take his cross and follow me is not worthy of me.”

::Matthew 10:37-38

Who do we seek? What do we seek? What is it in life that we put up before God? If this relationship with Christ, this putting of our faith and life, and our very souls into this Christ means as much to us as we say it does then why do we fail daily at this passage?

I just can’t stand to look at my life some days, I call into question my worthiness to follow Christ. This scripture reminds me that I am frail. Some would say well thats what grace is about. I say we use “grace” as an excuse, an excuse to not live fully for Christ.

What is your idol? What can you or I say gets in the way of taking up the old rugged for Jesus?

For me… Food is an idol. Friendships can be at times an idol, and pure laziness is an idol. The latter I think being the worse. Laziness screams at me saying “I’m not worthy!”

~ by Dan Browne on February 5, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
