Hockey & the Fee

LynxI have to say one of the best experiences for me in the ministry here at FBC Williston was taking our youth to the Augusta Lynx hockey game Friday night. About 1/2 had never been to a hockey game before and I would say the majority really enjoyed it! I’m not sure if it was the fights, the bone crushing sounds of people getting checked into the boards, or the constant flow of the game, but they had a blast! It provided me with an opportunity to share some knowledge about a sport I played for about 5 years in a league (most of our students follow football here). Unfortunately for the Lynx they lost to the Everblades 6-1, with the 1 goal scored in the last 15 seconds of the game.

Following the game (since it was family night hosted by WAFJ our local Christian radio station) was a concert put on by the Fee, a rockin’ worship band out of Atlanta. The big song by them on the air waves right now is “Glorious One“. Fee brought it, thats all I have to say. I was glad our students got to hear them. The concert was a bit short due to delays from the game but was by far excellent.

The students have asked if we could go again sometime soon and I would have to give a resounding YES!

~ by Dan Browne on January 15, 2008.

5 Responses to “Hockey & the Fee”

  1. Yeah, hockey is definitely a great sport to watch live, and a great event to take a youth group to. I’ve done that in the past as well.

  2. and Yes, as a Canadian, you MUST go see it again. …just for my sake. haha. (Did you watch the under 20 Canadian Juniors this year??)…uh oh. I’m starting to gloat. Better stop now, cause then I’ll start getting the football, basketball, and baseball trash talk. haha.

    I take my youth to see hockey games all the time. what a blast!

  3. Go Lightning! (well maybe not this year)

  4. steve fee is incredible. we’ve picked up a few of his songs to play at the community gatherings – awesome. glorious one, beautiful the blood, all because of jesus, and we shine…

    glad to hear things are going well.

    and how about those preds!?!? haha ;]

  5. Hey man!
    Steve Fee does an awesome job leading in worship.
    Glad I came across your blog.

    -Josh Robinson

Leave a Reply

 
