Good Eats

Cafe Rio Blanco
The title of this post is that of a great cooking show on the food network that I enjoy to watch (hats off to Alton Brown). The rest of this post is about local food.

Tonight I was driving home from Augusta, GA. when my wife called. She had just gotten off work and was hungry and asked if I could swing into Aiken, SC. to meet her for dinner. I am a lover of food, I truly enjoy to eat so how could I pass up such an opportunity?

We meet downtown on Laurens St and walked the shops in search of the best nectar and we found it! Just past the Alley there is a new resteraunt that has been open about 5 weeks. It’s called Cafe Rio Blanco and you will not be disappointed. If your a fan of a pressed sandwich this is the place to go. The Cuban cuisine is simply amazing. The flavors rolled around in my both and reminded me of a cuban place in New Port Richey, FL. that I used to frequent. The atmosphere of the restaurant was good as well, the walls are painted with murals depicting the cuban countryside and photos from Orlando Pinero’s (owner) first trip back to Cuba in 2005 after leaving are hanging on the wall in elegant black & white. The cafe is family owned as are the recipes. My wife and I enjoyed a delicious meal and delightful conversation with the staff (all family) that went past closing time. They where friendly and courteous and even gave us a desert on the house when they found out that my wife was pregnant in honor of her as a mother to be. I would rate this a 10 on my hotspots of dining for the food, atmosphere and down right great people. I shall return and bring friends.

If your in the Aiken, SC. area and want to step off the beaten path of “chain” restaurants drop in to Cafe Rio Blanco and you will not be disapointed. They are located near the Alley at 148 Laurens St.

~ by Dan Browne on December 8, 2007.

2 Responses to “Good Eats”

  1. Sounds good. I’ll have to check it out.

  2. El Cafe Cubano es muy bueno. Mi gusto arroz con pollo y plantanidos maduros. Mi gusto Materba frio! La flan es muy dulce aqui!

Leave a Reply

 
