Gone Fishin’

Today after I left the office I drove out to a church members farm and went fishing on their pond. I didn’t catch anything which Bill will tell you is normal, but to sit and listen to the sounds and view the wondrous things God created was simply amazing. Here I am in a canoe, with nothing but God’s creation around me and nothing to distract me. I recalled the passages about Jesus calming the storm:

“One day He and His disciples got into a boat, and He told them, “Let’s cross over to the other side of the lake.” So they set out, and as they were sailing He fell asleep. Then a fierce windstorm came down on the lake; they were being swamped and were in danger. They came and woke Him up, saying, “Master, Master, we’re going to die!” Then He got up and rebuked the wind and the raging waves. So they ceased, and there was a calm. He said to them,”Where is your faith?” They were fearful and amazed, asking one another, “Who can this be? He commands even the winds and the waves, and they obey Him!” Luke 8:22-25 (CSB)

It’s amazing the wind picked up and there I was on unfamiliar water and I felt what those with Jesus felt, my insecurity in self. Yet we have a savior who is with us always, who provides security. I am thankful that God reminded me of that today. We all have moments when we are fearful whether it is in a canoe on unfamiliar water or on a raging lake.

~ by Dan Browne on October 15, 2007.

One Response to “Gone Fishin’”

  1. you should have titled this post “Gone Casting”

Leave a Reply

 
