Journal

I find that my journal no matter the platform, be it paper or digital, is the place in which my spirituality grows. I have faced many a demon on the page and wrestled with God more then once. It’s in these pages that I find myself, my relationship with God, my spirit lives in the words and letters no eyes fall on but my own.

I dare say it is ecstasy at times. My mind wanders free and my thoughts pour from my hand. The pages are filled with the struggles of life, the joys of life. I look back over the last few years and see how God has answered prayers for me and for others.

The Bible in a way is God’s journal. We see from the beginning how he formed this world and see as well how he ends it. We see the struggles of his people, of his creation. We see the triumph in Christ, the suffering of Paul. God shares with us about love and good exceeding evil. He shares with us in his journal the many places long forgotten that even today we find buried. This journal of his gives accounts of war and healing, he tells of his jealousy and rage. We see how this creation runs from him in shame, how they are exposed and naked. God’s word, his living word, a journal he shares with his creation.

“In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God.”
::John 1:1 (HCSB)

~ by Dan Browne on August 30, 2007.

4 Responses to “Journal”

  1. I like your thought on this. The idea of the Bible as “God’s journal” is a unique one. I never thought of it in this way before, but you have a valid point that makes good sense! David

  2. i hated the journaling assignments in college (spiritual formation class) becasue i felt forced to write something…now that i have been introduced to blogging it’s a great way to journal some thoughts that might help others in their walk.

    p.s. do Llammas journal?

  3. 6 days………!!!!!!!!!!!!

  4. Yes they do journal.

    I’m with ya, I hated Spiritual Formations as well… being forced and graded on your time with God is rather weird. It becomes a chore, a grade.

Leave a Reply

 
