Words of a Friend

I was angry and frustrated; I still am to a degree but I know God is at work. I wanted to post this huge spiel about how I wish I were allowed more opportunities to minister then just the time I spend at church on Sunday mornings, how if it was not for certain circumstances that seem to be beyond my control, beyond the very force of my hand and my will to move forward, that I might be able to better minister and be better involved in what I feel God calling me to do.

So a very close and personal friend who has been there with me every step of the way over the last few years gave me a copy of “Contemplative Youth Ministry” by Mark Yaconelli and a few moments ago I just happened to pick it up. Not to read it… yet, since I have not finished my other nonfiction book; I don’t truly know what possessed me to pick it up but I did. I opened the cover and realized there was a message there for me that God meant for me to find at that specific moment.

“Dear Dan:

I hope that you will enjoy & benefit from this book. It was a great encouragement to me on a personal level and it also influenced my thinking ministerally. I wanted to give this as a small token of appreciation for your friendship as well as your numerous sacrifices and contributions to Northstar. I can’t tell you how much I appreciate you as both a friend & partner in service. I can’t wait to see where God is going to lead you. Know that I am praying for you & remember that God’s timing is perfect…”

I love you dude. Thank you for the words; they severed their purpose at exactly the right moment in which God desired them to. I would die in my heart without your friendship on a daily basis. I pray God continues to bless you, our friendship, and our time together as we move forward with our lives in all the directions that he directs.

~ by Dan Browne on April 12, 2007.

One Response to “Words of a Friend”

  1. You’ve got a GOOD friend Dan. What a blessing! That is a great book too. I just finished it a few months back.

Leave a Reply

 
