A Legend Remembered


Today I was informed that the trumpet legend Maynard Ferguson had passed away. It brought tears to my eyes, as did the death of Ray Charles not so long ago. See… I love jazz. I loved listening to Maynard play, yeah I’m only 26 but I heard him live about 10 years ago. I was living near Tampa and this old guy my two trumpet friends and I had meet said Maynard was coming to town to a place called the Jazz Cellar. It was this old time Jazz club that has long since closed. The owner and this guy agreed to let us “kids” in and when the gig was over we went out the back door cuz someone called it in about minors in the club. It was amazing, not because we where doing something illegal, but because we were able to see this jazz legend live, and man was he a player. We sat in the front row and his trumpet was in our faces. We could have reached out and touched him that night, we were that close. We loved every minute of it and it’s something I will never forget.

Rest in Peace.
Maynard Ferguson (1928-2006)

~ by Dan Browne on August 26, 2006.

Leave a Reply

 
