Homeless

I was reading on relevant tonight and saw a story about someone who was homeless for a time. As they said it was not the living on the streets & missions homeless but one of not having an address. I felt I could relate… no not the “yeah that stinks” relate, but actually being there. I don’t share this much but here ya go. I spent about 9 months to a year working and going to college. All my belongings were in boxes in the back of my 94’ Toyota pickup. Can you imagine everything you own fitting into that space? It’s hard for me to fathom now, but looking back it was a great experience. Sure I slept on the occasional bed, futon, or whatever but I spent most of that time on a hard wood floor with a sheet and a pillow. I learned from that experience to rely on God. It also taught me about material things and the ability to just walk away from them. I still struggle with wanting the best this or that, who doesn’t? I wish I could go back to the growth I felt with God during that time. All I did was rely on him to provide. Now I have moved away from that and it’s a dangerous place to be.

It was difficult to sleep on a bed for a long time. I still struggle sometimes.

I can look over my shoulder right now and see boxes I have never unpacked since that time.

~ by Dan Browne on July 31, 2006.

One Response to “Homeless”

  1. Wow, thanks for sharing that. I am sure the answer of “rely on God” that we are so quick to give has really taken on a new meaning for you.

Leave a Reply

 
