The Rescue


What joy. I was sitting at the Airport in Panama City to pick up my wife when She calls and says that she is back in Atlanta. Apparently the weather was to bad and the pilots turned around with only 20 minutes left until they would land. When my wife got off the plane they informed the passengers that is was a mechanical malfunction. Then she found out there are no other flights to PC or any other city in our area. Next thing I know I packed up my trusty sidekick Sadie and hit the road for a 9-hour round trip to Atlanta.

There’s nothing like the open road, thunderstorms, & having your dog with ya. Really it was a good trip, I didn’t mind so much when I drove through Eufaula, Alabama on US431. I was able to see so many breath-taking homes from the turn of the century as well as run down shacks far out on country roads. To bad the camera was in Atlanta. I did secure my wife from the airport and drove her home. We spent some good quality time together and she told me all about her adventures in New York City over the last few days.

*** Note that I will be traveling this way once more in a week when Her and I go on vacation to Gatlinburg, Tenn. for our anniversary. ***

~ by Dan Browne on June 26, 2006.

4 Responses to “The Rescue”

  1. Hey, thanks for stopping by my blog. My wife and I were just in your part of the country a little over a week ago. We flew from Seattle to Pensacola and spent a week in Gulf Shores. I grew up in Arkansas and we really hope to move back south one of these days.

    Nicole would have loved to been on your drive though the plantation homes. That was something she really wanted to do, but we just did not have time.

  2. It’s breath taking. I love it when history comes to life it’s so much better then any book. You where very close Pensacola is about 100 miles away. If ya all ever get own this way drop a line.

  3. When you hit Gatlinburg, take a side trip out to Rainbow Falls for me. That’s where I proposed to my wife just over 10 years ago.

  4. Thats awesome… about how far is it do yoou think? On our way up we are going to stop at Clingman’s Dome.

Leave a Reply

 
