Spiritual Wisdom

Spiritual wisdom. What is it really? Some hocus pocus that God sprinkles down on you like fair dust? Here comes Tinker Bell…

No really… I just started reading Ephesians and in the first chapter it talks about how Paul prays for spiritual wisdom. Not for himself mind you but for the believers at Ephesus. So how do we today find this “spiritual wisdom” that Paul is talking about. They didn’t have the Bible the way we do. In fact it was still be written!!!

This spiritual wisdom comes from an understanding of God. Paul is interceding for the church at Ephesus. He is praying that God would reveal wisdom to them. How does God do this? The Holy Spirit. I think that sometimes if we would just sit down shut up and listen that we would truly find God’s voice. I feel like I am always in the way. I have so much I want to tell God I don’t listen.

So with spiritual wisdom we will grow in our knowledge of God. I have attended a Baptist college for a few years now and I have tons of head knowledge about God but it’s not the same. See… without action that head knowledge is meaningless. It’s wasted. As people we need to use our knowledge. The great commission for example, most of us probably know it but how often to we allow the spiritual wisdom found there to act through us?

I think (as I get long winded) that we need to remember that spiritual wisdom is both a mental & physical wisdom. You can pray for spiritual wisdom all you want but unless you let God speak you will never hear it and unless you let God work you will never do it.

~ by Dan Browne on March 24, 2006.

2 Responses to “Spiritual Wisdom”

  1. Great insight Dan. I appreciate the words of James 1:5…”If any of you lacks wisdom, he should ask God, who gives generously to all without finding fault, and it will be given to him.”

  2. Wisdom involves action. Just listening to God in prayer is action. To day is the day of faith. I’m going to get a bunch of stuff done for my doctor. It involves them taking blood. All that is running through my mind is Phil. 4:13. Only by God’s strngth can I endure this morning.

Leave a Reply

 
