A Bible Worn

I recall a time once when I was helping with a youth event on Panama City Beach. We had just finished leading worship & took some time to pray under the light of candles. The glow of the lights dancing on the walls and the faces of those in prayer brought waves of emotion to my heart. Even under the dim light I could see a friend reading her Bible & praying. I can see her sitting there like it was yesterday, her hand caressing God’s word like it was her child, her only hope of breath. The Bible in her hands was tattered. I could see the tear stains on the pages where she wept while devoting herself to God. What really grabbed my attention was the text. It was worn form the pages, faded from sight. I was envious of this woman, I could see that she loved God so much more than I could ever imagine. Tears filled my eyes as I longed for that kind of relationship with my creator.

As a Christian I have always struggled with reading God’s word. I’m not sure why really I absolutely love to read, but picking up the Bible can be rather hard. How is it then, that we as Christians can overcome this? We should be like my friend, longing to caress God’s word. Like Paul giving everything he had to follow Christ. There are people all over the world who are being tortured for the sake of Christ, they long for a piece of God’s word to read and yet I have the entire Bible sitting before me. I am ashamed of myself, ashamed that I have more of God’s word then others and yet I do little with it. In Acts 2:42 the believers devoted themselves to the apostles teaching, the teaching of God. We should be like those of the early church, devoting ourselves to the teaching of Christ, to fellowship & prayer. I pray that someday I will be like my friend and inspire another to read God’s word by opening it myself.

The pages of God’s word are graced with the passion my heart seeks; the Holy Spirit seeks. I pray that the Spirit would move me to take up this sword and read the engravings found on the hilt and blade. The words of God etched with the very blood of Christ.

Lord grant me wisdom & guidance. Give me patients & strength. May I run the race you have set before me giving you glory every step of the path. Put a burning desire in my heart to worship you with every breath you give. Ignite the flame found only in your son that it may burn brightly for you, bringing you glory in all that I say and do.

They devoted themselves to the apostles’ teaching & fellowship, sharing in the Lord’s Supper & in prayer. –Acts 2:42 (NLT)

~ by Dan Browne on March 12, 2006.

One Response to “A Bible Worn”

  1. I’m with your brother.

    God is most satisfied in us when we find our full satisfaction in Him.

Leave a Reply

 
